Skip to content

Her Name is Ed Wilson

Thoughts, Anyone?

As a new writer you want to leave your mark. You want to make noise, create a stir, cause waves. But what if it backfires?

I was browsing through Amazon’s blog (Omnivoracious) and read an excerpt of a review from the New York Times for the novel Union Atlantic by Adam Haslett.   I’ll post the excerpt below.

“In ‘Union Atlantic’ an immensely talented young writer attempts to write a big, splashy novel with Tom Wolfeian ambitions — a novel set mainly in the early years of this millennium and flirting with issues like Wall Street corruption and class warfare. The result is a lumpy, disappointing book: at times, gripping and keenly observed, but more often strangely implausible and contrived.”

I fretted after reading this thinking, is that me? Is my writing lumpy and contrived? I asked myself this  because the current novel that I’m querying, There are No Gods for Arthropods has a few bold themes and like anything large and lumbering I worry it can fall flat on its face. My novel is a satirical allegory about people’s relentless obsession with  finding purpose in the universe, but is told through the micro world of insects. One of the biggest influences on my storytelling  are Don Bluth’s incredible animated films. I love animation, especially classic “ink and paint” animation. Lastly, my book is a slight homage to Lewis Caroll’s classic, Alice and Wonderland.

That’s a lot right?

Honestly, when I began writing my manuscript the only intention I had was to tell a story about my own winding path in hopes of self-discovery. Being  “noticed” does not mean having to cause controversy, but being bold enough to write about something honest and undisguised.  Any story about talking insects is pretty implausible, no getting around that one… But I hope that the journey my main character goes through  feels true.

What’s your opinion? Should a new author be audacious at the start or slink in abashed?

-e.d.w.

Tags: , , , , , ,

