Skip to content

Her Name is Ed Wilson

Thoughts, Anyone?

I’ve been sort of wanting a change of scenery recently.

I currently live in a small semi-rural town working in the family business. One of my friends, Udara, got a nice gig on the Carnival Cruise lines. I asked him about the details and he essentially told me it’s the best. The only the deterrent is he has to work with a lot of 15-17 year olds.  Still, the pay is good and room, board, and food, are free. As much as I love my friend Udi, we tend to have different definitions for “good.”  My biggest worry is where I’ll sleep. I mean will all the female attendants be packed in like sardines in a cabin buried in the lower deck??

I don’t know. I’ve heard of a lot of cruise job nightmares, like eating left over food, insane hours,  sexual harassment, and over bearing bosses. But truly, when I really think about it, any of that can pretty much happen anywhere.  The difference is you’re 200 yards out in the middle of the ocean.  Additionally, I can’t swim all that well but I can always get some practice. Another worry is leaving my dog Mac behind. I’m really the only one who takes care of him, although I know  my sister would do a great job.

Udi told me he was asked to stay longer than his 4 month contract, but he ended up saying  “no.” His real dream is to work in the United Nations Development Program (UNDP).  However, he emphasized that this is something everyone should do at least once in their lives.

So, should I do it?  Hmm.

Has anyone else worked in the Cruise line industry?

-e.d.w.

Tags: , , , , ,

