Skip to content

Her Name is Ed Wilson

Thoughts, Anyone?

Comic drawn by Federico Fieni of OneBlog

As I was procrastinating, when I should have been forging ahead with my second manuscript The Cartoonist, I found this interesting article by Lance Ulanoff of PCmag. He examines the accelerated success of the Google Chrome browser and even dares to predict that it may surpass Internet Explorer (IE) and Firefox in the next 5 years.

Honestly, I’m still a big firefox fan, but I have to admit that I have been drawn to the “chrome.”

Besides its nifty svelte appearance, what I enjoy about chrome is that you can make your homepage keep a “screen cap” of your 8 most popular sites. This is great when I don’t want to have to access my favorites folder. Just recently Chrome added extensions (similar to Firefox) so you can further customize your internet experience.  Not exactly revolutionary, but it seems coincide with Ulanoff’s analysis which is Google has risen so fast because it’s making larger strides than its competitors in shorter periods of time.

As with anything I enjoy there are also a few things that I would like to see improved, such as plugins. For some reason I haven’t been able to get those to work at all.  And this may just be me, but at first I found it confusing to navigate through Chrome’s toolbar, perhaps because I’m just so accustomed to seeing [File] [Help] [Bookmarks] [View] etc.  Otherwise, it’s definitely a good browser.

It’s funny. I remember years ago Firefox was the little guy, the single vanguard brave enough to stand up against the mighty IE behemoth. I mean come on, Firefox began the whole “tabbed” browsing phenomenon!!

Yet, it seems like Google crept behind the scenes and infiltrated them both.

Still, I’ll stick with the Fox.

-e.d.w.

Tags: , , , , ,

