Skip to content

Her Name is Ed Wilson

Thoughts, Anyone?

After the Apple released their version of the ultra-portable computer I was somewhat disappointed, because it’s not a product for me. So, I was doing a little googling to discover some of the competitor’s offerings. It came down to the Archos 9, joojoo tablet, and the HP slate.

Here’s the rundown:

Archos 9 PC Tablet

So far, this is my favorite of the bunch.

The List:

  • HDMI Output/VGA
  • SD Slot
  • 9 inch LCD screen/weighs 1.2 lbs/But it is not multi-touch but does have touch-lite features
  • Comes standard with Windows 7/uses Adobe flash
  • 1 usb port
  • Completely silent (No cooling fan)
  • Stylus enabled (also uses stylus pen as a stand to keep it upright)
  • Optical mouse and left and right “taps”
  • Wireless and 3G ready

Read more, compliments of Gizmodo.com

The JooJoo Tablet (a.k.a. the Cruchpad)

Photo provided by The Blog is mine.com

Truthfully, I don’t yet know enough about this one except that it’s in sort of a weird spot. Apparently, one of the co-creators is suing his partner for stealing his idea. But what I do know is that it’s online only, meaning it doesn’t come with any OS, th screen is 10 inches, and it  has some multitouch capability.  Kinda short? Well that’s all I know.

HP Slate

Definitely won the naming lottery.

The List:

  • Wireless and 3G ready
  • Can play HD video
  • HDMI
  • 10 inch screen
  • Adobe Flash capable
  • Windows 7 comes standard

Apparently, Gizmodo beat me to the punch, here’s their own breakdown of the ultra portable pc tablet offerings. Honestly though, looking at what’s available I think it would serve me best to wait it out and see how these devices hold up over the next few years.

What do you guys think? Just  a fad? Or just what you needed?

-e.d.w.

Tags: , , , , ,

