Skip to content

Her Name is Ed Wilson

Thoughts, Anyone?

Image is property of Gizmodo.com

I’m sure I’m post no. 3,795,324 that’s discussing Apple’s sneaky release of their new tablet device the iPad. I didn’t even bother putting a “more” tag, because I figure once someone sees the photo they’ll be saying to themselves. “Not this again!”

Still, I just had to offer up my own picayune’s worth of commentary: KEWL! ^_^

The List

  • It uses all of the apps available in the app store (140,000) Along with new iWork capability (slide presentations/graphs/etc.)
  • It has a 9.7 inch LED display with 10 hours of “juice” life.
  • It weighs 1.5 lbs and is 0.5 inches thin.
  • Multi-touch screen display (1000 integrated sensors!) with tilt capability.
  • Is available in two models 3G and Wireless along with built in Bluetooth 2.1.

I must admit as much as I dislike Apple’s closed platform. The iPad’s design is very chic. However, after watching their “initiation video” I feel sort of underwhelmed that this device is following in tow with their previous apple gadgets of being closed with Apple¬†proprietary. Honestly, this is solely a recreational device. Even with iWork, I still prefer to use other OS applications to any of Apple’s. I would much rather purchase a nice tablet notebook which I can customize to my specifications. For example, I like to use netflix, especially their instant watch feature, but with Apple putting all of their devices on “lock down” it is impossible to have a truly enjoyable limit free internet browsing experience.

One of the most interesting features I noticed was Apple’s e-book capability(Who didn’t see this one coming? Am I right?) that really is looking to charge into rival e-book readers, especially sense the iPad is multi-functional, meaning less tech to haul around.

Am I sold? Not really. As I’ve said I like to have more flexability in my device, but if that isn’t an issue with you, at the price of $499 it’s not a bad buy.

Does anyone know the GB space on this thing?

-e.d.w.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

