Skip to content

Her Name is Ed Wilson

Thoughts, Anyone?

Once again I’m I’ve on the late end of things.

I saw an article on /film that a British series called Torchwood was in the works for an American adaptation. So, I had an hour to kill and I like weird sci-fi stuff with fun characters. Can’t tell you how happy I am that I didn’t read the description and I just went in blind. I’ve only seen the first episode so far, but it seems like a quirky show and  feels eerily Whedon-esque in a way. Or even Sam Raimi for that matter.   It sort of reminds me of Firefly with Captain Mal running his crew of “space cowboys.”  But premise wise, the two shows don’t have much in common. The main character is Captain Jack Harkness a dead guy who runs a small unit (see: Torchwood) that investigates crimes of the supernatural persuasion.

It does feel it bit campy at times, but I think that’s the charm of shows like this. Lots of  tililation and tongue and cheek humor. No harm. No foul.   I wonder how they’re going to change the show for the American audience. It doesn’t seem like much would have to be really “translated.” Like I said, I literally had no idea what the show was and even I could understand what was happening.  I kind of miss having a show like this. When I was in high school I was addicted to Buffy the Vampire Slayer, but because I don’t watch too much TV I haven’t had a chance to really discover new stuff. The closest comparison I can think of is J.J. Abrams’ Fringe, but that show’s more serious ala X-Files.

I don’t know if that’s a significant barometer or not, but hey. Take that for what it’s worth.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

