Skip to content

Her Name is Ed Wilson

Thoughts, Anyone?

Oh let me count the ways…

So right now I’m prepping my 300 word pitch for submission in the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award (ABNA for the cool kids) and I don’t know if it’s at all effective.  It’s sort of based off of my query letter, which has only gotten 1 semi-hopeful response thus far. For all of you lucky enough to not want to be writer’s, I’ll explain why a “pitch” is important. A pitch is basically a catchy spew of words that you use to grab your audience (see: literary agent). I guess it’s not hard to understand, really.

Anyhow, everything friggin’ rests on this thing. It’s like one misspelled word or lackluster verb choice and you get an instant delete and dismissal. It’s even more daunting for me as a first time writer, almost as hard as writing a bio (with no previous writing credits beyond the 6th grade).  I know I’m not the only one obsessing on it at the moment. The entry period starts next Monday and I believe only 5,000 people are allowed entry.  I don’t doubt it’s going to be pretty much a crapshoot for me, but I’ve lost any sense of embarassment at this point.

I’m ready for my manuscript to be prodded, scrutinized, critiqued, and laughed at.  At least they had to read it first, right?  I know I’ll be facing some serious competition, from people who are probably writing about their memoirs on mental abuse or people drawing up the next vampire and/or zombie epic.  My little yarn about insects can be easily lost in the fray.

In other news, 3 more rejections today which brings me to a total of 5 so far.  I’m not really feeling rotten about it. Again, no shame.  I still have quite a few to hear back on. I’m not really one to just hold out on hope, I like to have a plan just in case I’m rejected. It’s sort of made me seriously consider self-publishing. I know the independent road is a hard one to travel, but what do I have to lose?

Tags: , , , ,

