Skip to content

Her Name is Ed Wilson

Thoughts, Anyone?

I’m an aspiring writer and like most. I enjoy a good yarn. I don’t really have any particular genre, maybe science fiction/fantasy.

But I thought, I could review a book I’ve read over the week   every Sunday (or every other Sunday depending on time).

My first feature for Citizen Literature Sunday is Teilhard de Chardin’s The Phenomenon of Man. I actually bought this book used  (I’m a huge used book advocate) because of it’s connection to another novel called Everything that Rises Must Converge.  The cover of  Flannery O’Connor’s book is intensely evocative,  featuring a dove moments from being pierced through the heart with an arrow.  It drew my attention after being featured on an episode of  Lost. I don’t think I was alone in my interest  as it is the fifth most popular book of Flannery’s according to Amazon.

Well, it turns out the title of Flannery’s book was inspired by a quote in Chardin’s book which is how my journey ended up here.

Chardin wrote Phenomenon in an attempt to explain how religion can coincide with  science, more specifically evolution.

I’ll first say that I am not a religious person, but I cannot deny Chardin’s passionate philosophy about how belief and the tangible can reconcile. While reading it I couldn’t shake the feeling that most of his theory didn’t necessarily lie in logic, but a sort valiant mysticism. In other words, something that couldn’t be observable and held to scrutiny. Still, as I said some of his views of nature and life are affecting and extraordinary, for me it was when discussing the impersonal nature of  scientific study. Overall, I think readers who were hoping to be persuaded one way or the other after they read this book, will feel like they’re back where they started. I read this a small while ago and it was great research for my current manuscript There are No Gods for Arthropods.

-e.d.w.

