Skip to content

Her Name is Ed Wilson

Thoughts, Anyone?

I read a story in the The Hindu, which stated there is an estimate of 50,000 people who may have died during this tragedy.

It seems our little beloved Haiti can never just get a break.  Already, it was hammered with seasonal hurricanes just last year and now the earth is shattering beneath them. Never have I witnessed so much devastation just saturate such a small space. I know several people from Haiti and fortunately for them their families are alive and well. I just cringe at the images of those children walking through their deceased relatives, wading through human waste, lame, and  listless.

I believe the media is certainly a necessity in cases like this, but I can’t shake the feeling that some of the news is pure exploitation, using real people as “special interest”  news “packages” to be digested, consumed. Please don’t misunderstand me. I respect the right of the journalist and the craft of journalism, but what good does it do to show the dead without knowing that’s what the survivors wanted? And in the case they cannot be reached, how does it help advance the cause to show people dying?  Don’t get me wrong, I do not believe reality should be eschewed for the sake of “propriety.”

But how can lingering shots of the dead in any way be essential to telling the story of a country cracked open?

If you would like to donate, please visit this link.

-e.d.w.

Tags: , ,

